Free rides offered by LRT-1, LRT-2, MRT-3 on Freedom Day

PHOTO: Courtesy of (PNA photo)

The three railway services in Metro Manila – LRT-1, LRT-2 and MRT-3 will offer free rides to passengers on certain hours on June 12 when the Philippines celebrates its 125th Independence Day.

This year’s Independence Day celebration theme is “Kalayaan, Kinabukasan, Kasaysayan” (Freedom, Future, History). 

The free rides will be available from 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. and from 5:00 pm.m. to 7:00 p.m. “May the spirit of the occasion, love of country and oneness live through our passengers,” Transportation Assistant Secretary for Railways and MRT-3 officer-in-charge Jorjette Aquino said.

The free ride is a yearly activity of the rail lines and the Department of Transportation in celebration of Independence Day. LRT-1 runs from Baclaran in Parañaque City to Bago Bantay, Quezon City (Roosevelt); LRT-2 from Recto in Manila to Antipolo City in Rizal; and MRT-3 along EDSA from Taft Avenue in Pasay City to North Avenue in Quezon City.