7 nat’l highways to help spur productivity in N. Luzon

LAOAG CITY – Seven provincial roads in Northern Luzon have been converted into national highways to spur productivity in the area.

ROAD CONVERSION. Department of Public Works and Highways Secretary Roger Mercado hands in to Apayao Cong. Elias C. Bulut Jr. on Tuesday (June 21) the DPWH order declaring the conversion of seven local roads into national highways. The conversion is expected to spur economic development and opportunities in rural communities in northern Luzon. (Contributed)

 The conversion is embodied in a department order signed by Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Secretary Roger Mercado. The seven roads are in the Ilocos Region, Cordillera Administrative Region, and Cagayan Valley.

Mercado handed over his order to Apayao Congressman Elias C. Bulut Jr. on Tuesday, June 21.

“With the recent promulgation, the people of Apayao can look forward to improved accessibility and reduced travel time, leading to enhanced productivity in the province,” Apayao Rep. Elias C. Bulut noted.

Now designed as national highways are the Piddig-Carasi (Ilocos Norte)-Calanasan-Langnao-Kabugao road; Kalinga-Apayao road connecting Balbalan, Pinukpuk, Kalinga and the town of Conner in Apayao; Santa Maria-Upper Atok-Aurora road; Sanchez Mira (Cagayan-Kittag-Cadaclan-Eva Garden (Apayao) road; Kabugao (Apayao)-Tineg, Abra-Nueva Era, Ilocos Norte road; Cagayan-Apayao road (Buluan, Mawegui-Allangigan-Rizal) road; and Paddaoan-Talifugo-Marag road.

The DPWH, in a statement, the conversion of the local roads to national highways would “spur economic development and opportunities in rural communities.” The national government, through the DPWH, would now take the responsibility for their maintenance.