F2F classes in 10 Cagayan Valley public schools start Dec. 6

ILAGAN CITY, Isabela – Ten public schools in the Cagayan Valley region start their pilot limited face-to-face classes on December 6, part of the 177 added to the Department of Education (DepEd) list.

The 10 schools include the Tabang Integrated School and Namuccayan Integrated School in Santo Niño, Cagayan; San Antonio Elementary School, San Lorenzo Elementary School, and Santa Isabel Elementary School, in this city; and Villa Flor Elementary School, Cassap Fuera Elementary School, Maligaya Elementary School Annex, Devera Elementary School, and Pinoma National High School in Cauayan City here in Isabela.

Simulation classes were done prior to their in-person opening. The other schools are nine (9) from the Ilocos Region, seven (7) from Central Luzon, 13 from Calabarzon, 11 from the  Bicol Region, 17 from Western Visayas, nine (9) from  Eastern Visayas, 12 from the Zamboanga Region, 10 from Northern Mindanao, seven (7) from the Davao Region, 15 from Soccskargen, nine (9) from Caraga Region, 20 from the Cordillera Administrative Region, and 28 from the National Capital Region.

DepEd – Cagayan Valley director, Dr. Ben Paragas, said the schools on the list passed safety assessments by the DepEd and the Department of Health.

In its evaluation of the face-to-face classes that started November 15, DepEd said the pilot test have been successful, with no cases of Covid-19 recorded among students, teachers, and staff from the initial 120 schools. (PNA)